Blog migration to GitHub Pages

TL;DR I migrated my blog from WordPress to Jekyll to be hosted on GitHub Pages

Introduction

I have long since had the idea of migrating to a blog maintained by a static site generator. This allows me to store my content in textual format, giving me more control over them.

Getting the theme ready

For GitHub Pages, the default static site generator that they use is the Jekyll generator. This is quite a full-fledged generator, complete with support for pages, blog posts, and plugins which can help extend the functionality of the site.

Starting with a minimalistic theme

I have seen many text-based blog theme used to good effect. With only text to work with, the design is very much typography based. But I would also like to give a slight developer, “hackish” feel to my blog, so I went on to JekyllThemes and selected this beautiful monospace theme by Micah Cowell.

Adding some design touches

The first impression on the theme is the lack of code highlighting. Considering that my posts contain quite a bit of code in it, it would be nice to have some sort of code highlight for easy readability.

This code highlight has two part to it. The first one will be a simple code that written in the post itself. The second type would be embed gists.

For embed code, Jekyll uses code highlighter that plays well with Pygment theme. Since Pygment is a rather well-established system, there are really many options we can go with. I went with a dark theme that quite nicely matches with the original theme code display.

The Jekyll theme that I started with made used of SASS to link together all the different stylesheets. I took advantage of that and linked the corresponding stylesheets to the main sheet. The organization of the source file made all of that easy work for me. (Kudos for the theme arrangement)

Adding all the features

One of the reasons why I chose WordPress before this is the ease of setup, where all the features are there. There is built in tag and categories system, comment systems, and analytics system to track page views. All these are not readily available in Jekyll. You have to do some work to implement them.

Tag and category system

The tag system in the theme has a manual system that requires you to key in the tags to generate the tag index page. But that is too much trouble for me, so I will go with the automated process.

I so went in search of a plugin to add automatic tagging system for Jekyll. In the end, I have decided to build upon Jekyll default tagging system and have a plugin that uses the jekyll plugin system to generate the tag index page.

I did something similar for the categories too. To have a more depth understand of how I did it, refer to the tutorial here.

Blog analytics

Google analytics can be embedded into any page. It tracks quite a lot of details. There is the IP address, the countries, the page visited, almost everything that you can find on the WordPress JetPack system. I have a tutorial here that details how to add Google Analytics to your Jekyll blog.

Comment system

WordPress has its own comment system where everything is stored in a mySQL database. But for the rest of the blogging world, the DisQus commenting system is used instead. It is possible to embed the Disqus comments into a Jekyll site too. After all, it is just another javascript file away. I have a tutorial here that details how to add Disqus comment to your Jekyll blog posts.

Importing the content

After the theme is ready, the next stage will be to import the content from my existing WordPress blog into the Jekyll theme. We first have to export the WordPress posts in the XML format. If you need help, you can refer to WordPress own help page.

Deciding on blog structure

Previously when I was using WordPress, I didn’t put in much effort into post organization. There are multiple categories for each post. There are different categories of posts, of which some are used just for a few posts.

After blogging for a while now, I recognize these problems and went ahead a drew up a set of simple organization for my posts.

Each post can only have one category, but can be given multiple tags to add further description to the post.

Extracting the posts

So for each post, there are a few metadata that needs to be included, the slug, date, tag and category. From the XML file, I will extract all these information into their separate files to represent one post each.

To automate this process I have written a script to do all these.

After the posts are generated, I check and update the posts’ information. Then I move everything into the _posts folder and run jekyll serve --watch. I check through all the posts to ensure that there aren’t any problems with the content.

The End?

This blog would probably be an ongoing project. After importing all the posts, there would certainly be more features and plugins that I would like to add to my blog, ability to attach gists, Imgur album, google drive files. All these will probably come into play in the future.

Leave a Reply

